Be In The Moment

Today, as I was out riding my bike, I had several opportunities to “be in the moment”.

What I’ve been learning lately, from reading the book Tapping the Source, is that I have a choice – each and every moment – of what I want to focus on.

It is an absolutely beautiful fall day. The temperature is in the mid-70s. There’s a slight breeze. There is a wide array of colors being displayed by several different species of trees. It couldn’t be a better day to go for a bike ride in the forest preserve – aside from the fact that it rained all day yesterday, leaving the path slippery with lots of wet leaves.

I rode my bike for a little over 12 miles today. That took me about an hour to accomplish. An hour. For an hour I was surrounded by beauty.

But, that’s not all I encountered. Because of the beautiful day, there were a lot of other people out enjoying the free park trails as well. In general, there were people just…out.

For instance, there was one man walking along the path, who, as I was passing by him, looked at me with this look as though he was going to spit in my face. I guess some “walkers” don’t like us bike riders being on “their” path.

There were several instances where I had to stop my momentum and slow way down because of pedestrians in both lanes, moving in opposite directions, meeting at the exact same time I would be passing them.

Then, of course, we can’t forget the hot-shot in his fancy car coming out of the Starbucks drive-through, talking on his cell phone, not paying attention to his surroundings… Had I not stopped for him, I wouldn’t be writing this blog right now, that’s for sure.

Yes, there were several moments along the way today where I literally wanted to bash some people’s heads in, break their necks, or just zap them into oblivion. I wanted to hang on to those angry feelings for a while and fantasize about getting my revenge.

But…that’s all they were…moments.

After each one of those moments had passed, I had the conscious awareness to realize that, hey, that moment is passed. It’s over. It’s gone. That’s not the moment I’m having right now. Remember, I said that my bike ride took about an hour. Roughly 60 minutes. Do you know how many moments there are in a minute? There’s a LOT! I had a LOT of moments. Only a handful were “bad” moments. Imagine, being surrounded by all that beauty and letting a few bad moments destroy the many other wonderful moments I decided to have.

While I may not be able to control all of the circumstances in each of my moments, I don’t have to dwell on those moments. Instead, I can choose to be in each new moment, leaving old moments behind, in the past.

About stevepederson

I am a speaker, author, musician, coach, teacher and web designer. I love nature, photography, exercise and combining these elements when I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

